Color-banded AMRO in National Mall

I totally saw this color-banded American robin by the Smithsonian Metro Station the other day. This was my first “resight” of a color-banded bird in the wild — and it was feeding a fledgling! I assume it was one that was banded by the Migratory Bird Center since we’re right nearby; I’ll have to go to reportband.gov to report it.

(My coworkers and I were talking the other day about birds with arms and how great it would be if there was a site about birds with arms research (in a spirit similar to Peeps Research). Because I probably won’t have time to do ever that, I’ll pacify the need by occasionally trying to photoshop arms onto bird pictures I take. Maybe one day I can put them into a website… haha.)

Leave a Reply

